Page 1 sur 1

Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 27 avr. 2016 06:54
par cktse
Je suis désolé, je ne parle pas très bien français

J'ai besoin d'aide avec mon nouveau V3 Sabre DAC .

Je ne veux pas la gestion de l' alimentation ou l'affichage OLED .

Par conséquent , je n'ai pas commandé le bouton-poussoir , ni l'affichage .

Je suivais l'instruction de se connecter de façon permanente les broches d'alimentation . J'ai aussi enlevé le microcontrôleur de la prise .

Cependant, je ne peux pas allumer le RPI ( LED sont éteints ) .

L'aide est grandement appréciée!

Merci Beaucoup.

C.K.

---

Apologies for my limited French
I need help with my new V3 Sabre DAC.
I do not need power management or OLED display.
Therefore I did not order the push button nor the display.
I followed the instruction to permanently connect the power pins. I also removed the microcontroller from the socket.
However, I cannot power up the RPI (LED are off).
Help is much appreciated!

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 27 avr. 2016 08:32
par Audiophonics
Hi,

Did the PI work normally if you remove the DAC ?

Can you please send us a picture of your modded Sabre to see what can be wrong ?

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 27 avr. 2016 15:04
par cktse
Thank you for your quick reply David.

Yes, I confirmed that standalone RPI booted up fine (powered by the regular micro USB 5V).

I will send some photos tomorrow.

Again thanks for your help.

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 27 avr. 2016 15:11
par Audiophonics
you're welcome.

We will find what's wrong quickly.

I stay at your disposal.

Best regards

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : lun. 02 mai 2016 14:07
par cktse
Sorry for the late reply. I think I found out why.

I tested the output from the linear power supply using a voltage meter.

1 of the 2 cables which came with the Audiophonics 6V Linear Power Supply is broken -- only 0.06V.

After swapping with the other cable. I am getting 6V as expected.

You might want to speak to your supplier of power cables. It may not be very reliable.

I will try again with my setup and come back with questions. Thank you very much in advance.

Merci!

CK

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : lun. 02 mai 2016 14:31
par Audiophonics
Sorry to hear that.

But yes indeed it's enough to get things to doesnt work as expected.

Please contact our after sale team for a cable exchange.

I stay at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : lun. 02 mai 2016 16:14
par cktse
Thanks David for your quick reply.

I still need your help. After fixing the power cable, RPI power up OK.

However, the DAC still cannot be power up (see picture).

I have followed the instructions to permanently connect the pins to power on the DAC (see picture).

Please advice.

Merci!

CK

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : lun. 02 mai 2016 16:35
par Audiophonics
As far as i can see in your picture the RPI is powered by the DAC trough the GPIO (red led).

What's not working ? the PI doesnt boot ?

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : lun. 02 mai 2016 18:18
par cktse
Salut David.

Yes, RPI is powered by the DAC through GPIO. RPI boot into Arch Linux OK. I have no problem log on to RPI.

However, the DAC is not recognized in Linux ALSA. For example, aplay -l returns no sound card. I confirmed by lsmod that all the modules for Hifiberry have been loaded.

/boot/config.txt
...
dtoverlay=hifiberry-dac

> lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_soc_hifiberry_dac 2898 0
snd_soc_bcm2835_i2s 6384 0
snd_soc_pcm5102a 2130 0
snd_soc_core 155711 3 snd_soc_bcm2835_i2s,snd_soc_hifiberry_dac,snd_soc_pcm5102a
bcm2835_rng 2199 0
snd_pcm_dmaengine 5408 1 snd_soc_core
rng_core 8227 1 bcm2835_rng
bcm2835_gpiomem 3718 0
snd_pcm 89187 3 snd_soc_core,snd_soc_hifiberry_dac,snd_pcm_dmaengine
bcm2835_wdt 3621 0
snd_timer 22123 1 snd_pcm
snd 63597 3 snd_soc_core,snd_timer,snd_pcm
uio_pdrv_genirq 3591 0
uio 9277 1 uio_pdrv_genirq
sch_fq_codel 7988 2
ip_tables 12494 0
x_tables 16682 1 ip_tables
ipv6 370596 42

Any suggestion is much appreciated.

Merci beaucoup.

CK

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mar. 03 mai 2016 09:00
par Audiophonics
cktse a écrit :Salut David.

Yes, RPI is powered by the DAC through GPIO. RPI boot into Arch Linux OK. I have no problem log on to RPI.

However, the DAC is not recognized in Linux ALSA. For example, aplay -l returns no sound card. I confirmed by lsmod that all the modules for Hifiberry have been loaded.

/boot/config.txt
...
dtoverlay=hifiberry-dac

> lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_soc_hifiberry_dac 2898 0
snd_soc_bcm2835_i2s 6384 0
snd_soc_pcm5102a 2130 0
snd_soc_core 155711 3 snd_soc_bcm2835_i2s,snd_soc_hifiberry_dac,snd_soc_pcm5102a
bcm2835_rng 2199 0
snd_pcm_dmaengine 5408 1 snd_soc_core
rng_core 8227 1 bcm2835_rng
bcm2835_gpiomem 3718 0
snd_pcm 89187 3 snd_soc_core,snd_soc_hifiberry_dac,snd_pcm_dmaengine
bcm2835_wdt 3621 0
snd_timer 22123 1 snd_pcm
snd 63597 3 snd_soc_core,snd_timer,snd_pcm
uio_pdrv_genirq 3591 0
uio 9277 1 uio_pdrv_genirq
sch_fq_codel 7988 2
ip_tables 12494 0
x_tables 16682 1 ip_tables
ipv6 370596 42

Any suggestion is much appreciated.

Merci beaucoup.

CK
I2S DAC are not really some plug and play devices and cannot be recognized by the os.
Try to set Hifiberry DAC output it should give you sound.

Keep us informed please
I stay at your disposal.

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 04 mai 2016 06:16
par cktse
Yes, I understood that I need to set it up as Hifiberry DAC using device tree overlay in /boot/config.txt -- I had done that, but somehow it didn't work. I will try again. Please note that this was a plain Arch Linux build (not based on Runeaudio etc.) so I may have simply missed some packages or configurations.

For now, I switched to using the standard Runeaudio SD image -- and it worked!

P.S. Yes, I changed my mind regarding power management -- having the LED power button is cool!

Re: Aide avec V3 Sabre DAC

Publié : mer. 04 mai 2016 10:01
par Audiophonics
Good to know that there's no hardware issues !

Very good looking picture.

Enjoy your High res audio player ;)

I stay at your disposal for any questions.